Three important approaches I’ve learned from experience on how to discipline a child with dignity

Threeapproaches
Nathaniel, sometimes, loves to be alone.

Discipline doesn’t always mean punishment and humiliation as what most people perceived it to be. It could be in many forms. What’s important is that, in getting your child to behave the way you wanted him or her to, you’re not losing his or her dignity in the process.

But is it really possible to discipline a child without hitting him or her? Is it really necessary to spank your kids? Knowing how to discipline a child is never easy.

As a parent, it is important to consider the fact that you can’t solve every problem concerning your kids but there are certain ways worth dealing with for that matter. The following are just some of the few important approaches I’ve learned from experience on how to discipline a child with dignity:

MAKE A PLAN ON HOW YOUR CHILD CAN IMPROVE THAT YOU CAN BOTH WORK WITH

At three years old, I think Nathaniel’s never too young to be applied with this kind of approach though. Sure, he’s still struggling how to write his name or the alphabet but he can scribble something on a piece of paper.

It’s as simple as this: each time he knew he has done something wrong I want him to write it down on a piece of paper. After having scribbled something, I will be expected to react by saying, “See, they’re ugly”.

I would then encourage him to do better next time so that he can avoid the ugliness of his work. I would be waiting for his nod and after we have made a deal I will let him write again on a separate sheet of paper. He can write what he likes to write on a piece of paper and that’s fine with me then I would react by saying “Wow, beautiful”.

I would then ask for the pen and draw a figure myself out of the irregular lines and curves he was scribbling which I know he will like. Of course, he likes the fish, angel, butterfly, and so on and so forth.

Why I’m doing this is simple. I want to bring out the confidence in him while, at the same time, expecting him to be responsible for his own behavior. Good behavior deserves to be praised while negative ones have to be avoided.

MAKE THE RULES EASY FOR THEM TO UNDERSTAND

Making the rules clear and simple is a challenge every parent must overcome. Some parents are writing these rules down on a card board and post it in the bulletin board for everyone in the family to see.

These are common in schools, too, in public offices and places, and in the streets. Some of these rules include: no stealing, no throwing of objects, observe silence, no defying authority, no jay walking, no hitting, no abusive language, and so on and so forth. You can also do it verbally but make sure your child understands what you mean.

SETTING A FAIR LIMIT FOR MISBEHAVIOR

While it’s a fact that every child misbehaves, it is important for a parent to know when to step in and do something to correct the misbehavior. This will only be after a child has been warned out but still continue doing the undesirable. Nathaniel, like most children his age, has a short attention span and often forgets.

And while it’s important to praise a child for behaving well, I am making sure each time that he sees the consequences, for misbehaving, that are not pleasant to him. I have to communicate with him instead of giving him a sermon. I know that by discussing about his behavior instead of preaching at him will have to gain better results.

So these are the three important approaches I’ve learned from experience on how to discipline a child with dignity. I hope this article was able to help in some way. I will be writing more on this topic so keep following this site for my future posts.

Leave a Reply

