Fatherhood is like a mushroom sprouting off the stony ground

Fatherhood_is_like_a_mushroom
It’s an act of self-discovery…the mushroom is letting me take a glimpse of such a pattern lying beneath the surface of my awareness.

When I became a dad for the first time a little over three years ago, my idea of fatherhood was based upon the definitions of other people. But that has changed gradually over time as I came to embrace a new thought about it. I had this feeling about fatherhood as something I need to fully understand the dynamics of what actually parenting is all about.

It should be something that allows me to see what’s happening beneath the surface. I had to understand the pattern as I believed it has a pattern to follow in the first place. Until one morning, I saw a mushroom sprouting off the stony ground.

Looking closely at the mushroom, I saw a picture of this tiny plant in three dimensions. I can think of how it came to exist and the purpose it may be serving. I can think of all the created things whose patterns are reflected in me and in all of life.

Fatherhood is like a mushroom by which there is a pattern explaining what is and also suggesting what causes it to grow and change, and proposes what can be done about it. It’s an act of self-discovery, but also to involve speculating or wondering what’s going to happen next sometimes. The mushroom is letting me take a glimpse of such a pattern lying beneath the surface of my awareness and to strongly influence how I would think and feel about my spouse and my child.

It’s about understanding the subtleties and complexities of living organic processes and the nature of things. It is about uncovering patterns or pieces of patterns that advance our understanding of everything, from the way a mushroom fully blooms overnight to the way stars give birth to galaxies. Because to uncover the pattern in the natural world is to get insight into what is true and as a learning platform needed for the next discovery.

2 thoughts on “Fatherhood is like a mushroom sprouting off the stony ground

Leave a Reply

