Three years and counting: Fatherhood amid the spilled milk of everyday family life

natnatsick
Nathaniel was admitted to the hospital for the first time in this picture.

As the year 2015 is closing in two days, it’s also the best time to recall the happenings of the entire year which are now stored as memories in the memory bank of everyone’s mind. The good memories would be forever cherished and missed, while the bad ones most people would try their best to forget. The following are my fair share of some of the good, the bad, and the ugly happenings of my life in the past three years:

August 12, 2012

Nathaniel, my firstborn son, was born. I have waited outside the labor room area for almost twenty-four hours, tired, hungry, and sleepless. I was so worried and nervous at that time about what causing all the delay for my wife to deliver a birth that I lost my appetite. But the joy upon seeing my son for the first time is priceless and that it’s all worth the sacrifices I’ve made and been through.

January 01, 2015

Nathaniel was hospitalized for the first time due to seizure caused by a high fever: the time was 5:45 in the morning. It was so sudden and quick it didn’t even cross my mind about him to suffer from it because a few hours before he was very jolly and alive watching the fireworks exploded in the night sky welcoming the New Year. He stayed for three days in the hospital and he recovered soon after.

July 20, 2015

Nathaniel was hospitalized again due to seizure caused by a high fever. This was the second time my son was admitted to the hospital. Like the first time he was hospitalized, it was so sudden and quick and there was no sign it would lead up seriously to that.

December 30, 2012

Nathaniel’s christening. He was finally a Christian from that time on. I thanked the Lord Almighty for that and asked Him to guide my son all the way.

August 12, 2013

Nathaniel turned one. It was a joyful moment and my son was obviously enjoying the party. It was held in Jollibee, a popular Filipino fast food restaurant.

Sometime in June 2014

My laptop malfunctioned. Later I found out my Email address was hacked and I can’t access some of my accounts online anymore. Trying hard to recover the lost accounts but to no avail. I’m losing clients as a result. Contemplating on starting over again from scratch and it must be soon.

If I’m going to list down one by one about the happenings my life has been through in the past three years, it would take a book for all of you to read. But this post has been cut short to take note only some of the most important of events, not that other events are less significant, so you would still have a lot of time to spend for other things considering that the New Year is only two days away, which usually keeps people busier than in any other days of the year. As you can see, 2015 was a not-so-friendly year for me but I cannot turn back the clock and try to prevent the ugly things from happening; I must live with it without losing enthusiasm and faith in myself.

The past three years handed me the experiences I would surely need along the way, especially in the fatherhood and parenting aspects of them. I was taught a lot in as much as I had this great need to teach my own son. And one thing it has taught me about was that one of the best ways to grow closer with my son is to accept my failure, if ever I fail, as a parent.

Leave a Reply

