New year, new hope, new beginning

hope
I’m seeing the year 2016 as a time and place where hope could rise.

What does 2016 have in store for all of us? Some people might be viewing it as more of the same while others see it to be something much worse. Will there be more natural calamities in 2016 than the previous year?

Will there be lasting peace, prosperity, and harmony among people regardless of age, race, or creed? Will a meteorite from outer space strike the earth and finally destroy it? Will there be more fear, uncertainty, war, destruction, and confusion?

These are but just few of the many questions we could ask for what 2016 can bring for all of us. Of course, while horrible things could happen to people, even the good ones, I’d always love to see the bright side of everything. On this first day for the rest of 2016, I’d like to echo to all of you what I’m taking to heart about the lyrics of the song that goes, “Let there be peace on earth and let it begin with me.”

This year will also mark my fourth year of fatherhood. How time flies by so fast and my toddler would be turning four this coming August. Parenting has taught me a lot while, at the same time, knowing I have a ton of things to contribute to my son that makes life important, healthy, and enriched. Alongside many good things which have happened in my life in the last three years are some which are anything but good.

There are, of course, hurdles encountered along the way but their presence only served to motivate me towards becoming a better person, moving towards a better place. Yes, in a place where love is a great force to reckon with in transcending selfishness and where faith in myself could bulldoze the “what ifs.” It is a place where peace could enfold the heart like a warm blanket and where joy is taking on as many faces as humanity.

And just like an unstoppable wave of light that pours over the horizon, I’m seeing the year 2016 as a time and place where hope could rise. It’s going to be a new year, new hope, new beginning. Happy New Year to one and all.

Leave a Reply

