The greatest decision for a child

madonna_child
My Madonna and child.

Have you ever had been to a particular situation when your decision making was tested? Was it the greatest decision you had ever made so far? How do you feel after you had made the most important decision in your life?

Decision making is a part of life. It’s a choice you have to make on a daily basis. When you decide over something, you chooses for whatever it will bring you. To be undecided is already to choose to decide by not deciding.

Several years ago, I was asked by a relative of mine if I could donate a bag (around 450 cc) of my blood as she was scheduled for operation and she needed transfusion. Her blood type was O. I have decided to agree on donating my blood even if I didn’t know of my blood type yet at that time.

So we went (there were three of us as blood donors because she was asked by the physician to secure three bags needed for the operation) to the nearest Red Cross office for blood testing and typing. After having known that we were of the same blood type, I started to feel nervous. It was my first time to be taken a blood from a vein of that volume.

The operation was successful and I felt so relieved upon knowing it. I was thankful to have decided and finally gave it a go. It was not an easy decision I was making, though. I had a phobia, to some degree, for blood, by the way. But nothing could describe the joy I felt in my heart knowing I became one of the instruments in saving someone’s life.

It was not the greatest or the most important decision I had made in my life but I know I made a little difference. I was able to conquer my own fear for blood. And, surprisingly, I have already had been donating blood three times since.

Donating blood is perhaps one of the most unselfish gestures that anyone could make for his fellow men. It reminds us of what Jesus had done in the cross for all mankind. He ransomed us with his own blood so we could have life everlasting, just like the way it used to be.

Talking about donating a blood, allow me to share to you a selected story I came across with several years ago by Myron L. Morris, a physician, about a little boy who makes a difficult decision. Please read and try to find out something about the character of the boy through an act of decision during a crucial moment:

Eight-year-old Johnny was very serious when I called him into my office at the hospital and explained how he could save his little sister’s life. Mary, aged six, was near death—victim of a disease from which Johnny had made a miraculous recovery only two years earlier. Now Mary’s only chance was a blood transfusion from someone who had previously conquered the illness. Since the two children had the same rare blood type, Johnny would be the ideal donor.

“Johnny,” I said, “would you like to give your blood for Mary?”

He hesitated a moment, his lower lip trembling, but I had seen many people older than Johnny who were a little frightened by the idea of giving blood, so I thought no more about it. Then he smiled and said, “Sure, Dr. Morris. I’ll give my blood for my sister.”

The operating room was prepared and the children wheeled in—Mary, pale and thin; Johnny robust and almost cherubic.  Neither spoke, but when their eyes met, Johnny grinned broadly.

As Johnny’s blood siphoned into Mary’s veins, her pale skin began to turn pink. There was complete silence as the operation proceeded. But Johnny spoke in a brave little voice I will never forget.

“Say, Dr. Morris,” he said, “when do I die?”

It was only then that I realized what that moment’s lip trembling had meant when I had talked to Johnny in my office.

He thought that giving up his blood for his sister meant giving up his life! In that brief moment he had made his great decision.

That was, indeed, a very beautiful, inspiring account of a boy who made the greatest decision in his life by giving his everything, yes, even his own life, for the sake of someone. From out of such a single decision, everything was never the same again in his life and those of his loved ones. It’s about taking risks, but also to think wisely to come up with the right decision.

The decisions you are making at any time, whether great or small, will tell about who you are. Every single day is an endless stream of random possibilities that allow you to decide upon. Just like what I did a little over three years ago: I have decided to become a good husband to my wife and a best dad to my son.

Leave a Reply

