Parenting should be a joyful experience

joysoffatherhood.jpg
Me and my son Nathaniel. This picture was taken two years ago.

Can you have fun being a parent? The answer may not be what you would like to hear, but this is what I’m going to say being a parent myself: I’m having fun being a parent.

Of course, parenting is hard and raising kids could drain you both in the emotional and intellectual aspects of it. As a parent, you’ll have to meet your children’s needs, whether you like it or not, and they could be so demanding. Parenting begins while your child was still in the womb.

I’m a realist, but I’m also an idealist at the same time. I agree on the fact that parenting, to some degree, could lower the emotional well-being of a person. I also agree that for one to become a parent, he has to master the art of maintaining a household despite all the hustles and bustles it has to bring.

When I became a dad for the first time, I honestly felt like I’m being caught in a trap of mixed emotions. I felt nervous, anxious, and yet joyful. How would I be like raising a child? I have heard it many times from other parents that it’s not going to be easy.

It’s been almost four years ago today since I became a dad. And now I discovered why fatherhood or parenthood is such a very beautiful experience anyone could have or go through.  The point is not about having it easy or playing it safe. Sure, you could spare yourself from all the hardships raising kids may bring, but you’re going to also miss out on some of life’s greatest joys.

So when I hear people say that parents are miserable beings, I could only smile. They had no idea how parenthood could be such a rich source of joy, deep meaning, and purpose for every person. It could put anyone to be in touch with a whole other sensitivity which is nothing but good. It makes one feel more than he has ever felt. He feels the vulnerability of what he’s gotten into, but at the same time he would not be trading it for anything.

Leave a Reply

